Bird Watchers’ Field Club Second Sunday Outing at Lalbagh 14 July,2013

Last Sunday’s(14.7.13) Bird Walk was interesting and educative as always. I learnt many new things this time as Karthikeyan sir , Seshadri sir , Prasad sir and many others had joined us.

For me the best part was the millipedes. We saw 3 kinds of millipedes of different sizes and colors. Karthikeyan sir encouraged all of us to hold it and off course I never thought I would have such creepy crawlies on my hand. It was a wonderful feeling. The small one that we found first was so light that I could barely feel it move over my palm. It was around 8 cm, black in color,a strip of red on the back and had red legs.The second one was still smaller and the third was quite huge but it just tickled as it crawled over my  hand. And you know what they are not creepy at all!!!

Image

Saw this millipede in Sagara but they are found even in Lalbagh(Third millipede we saw)

I learned to distinguish between a millipede and a centipede. A millipede has 2 limbs per segment while a centipede has only one per segment. A millipede is harmless and feeds only on vegetal and animal matter.

The other interesting observation was the camel foot tree. In my first Lalbagh outing(12.5.13) it was a bare climber extending for many meters and we only saw its wide camel foot shaped leaves . In my second outing(9.6.13)  I saw it in bloom and this time thats the third outing I saw the seed pods that are flat , long and green.

We even saw a black kite fledgling. It is of the same size and coloration as the parent and so its difficult to distinguish adults and fledglings. But the one we saw was a fledgling for sure because Srinivas sir and others saw it trying to fly and a parent feeding it.

On the same tree we saw a juvenile crow with its parent(Jungle crow). A juvenile crow is easy to identify because one can see pink lining on the beak and unlike the adults its mouth is pink. It was of the same size as the parent. We saw the parent give a red food to it ,the juvenile ate on its own and then both flew away.

The Java fig tree was full of activity this time. It was fruiting and so attracted many birds. We saw White cheeked barbets, Oriental white eyes, Asian koels and Red whiskered bulbuls feed on the tiny red fruits of the tree.

The area next to the lake was more pleasing this time. Due to rains the dried lowland was filled with water to some extent. We saw 3 purple moorhens there.

We got to see many butterflies but I am really poor at identifying them. I remember the name of only one butterfly we saw and thats the Tailed jay.  

Birds checklist

  • Rose ringed parakeets
  • Magpie robin
  • Tailor birds
  • Jungle crows
  • Common and Jungle mynahs
  • Median egrets
  • White Cheeked Barbets
  • Red whiskered bulbuls
  • Spotted Dove
  • Purple moorhens
  • Greater and lesser cormorants
  • Grey heron
  • Copper smith barbet(call)
  • Asian koels
  • Black kites
  • Brahminy kite

I missed the Scaly breasted munia , the Oriental white eye and few other birds which others managed to see.

I did not click any pictures because if I did I would not have observed many things. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

